One woman and a reciprocating saw

The weather has been wonderfully cool in the morning this past week. Its pretty abnormal for June but it makes the perfect time to get big projects done outside. I decided to tackle all the overgrown bushes in the front of our house and with the help of a reciprocating saw, two days later the house is refreshingly sans bushes.

FullSizeRender 19

Here is a before of the house. The bushes had probably been growing as long as the house has been here, which means over 30 years if not 40. As you can imagine we weren’t sure how to get them out at first. With the root base being so large and established pulling them out with a truck didn’t seem likely, plus with the well lines going out from the house in the area of a couple of them, digging them out with a backhoe might damage those lines.FullSizeRender 22

Zach has been working 70+ hours a week at the hospital because they are short staffed so he’s been too wiped out to help me do manual labor around the house when he is off. His Brother Brady cam and helped me pull out one side of the first bush to open it up so I could reach the center to cut them out. We had thought there would be a chance the root base might be shallow and the truck pull them out but that thought was squashed in about two seconds.

The bushes were so overgrown that I had to climb under them to get near enough to the larger branches to cut them out. The space was too tight for a chainsaw, so Zach rigged me up with his reciprocating saw one evening and the next morning I went to town on these giant green meatballs that were taking over the front of the house.FullSizeRender 20

I successfully removed two the first day in about two and half hours in the morning since I had some things to do the rest of the day. The feeling of cutting out those bushes was so satisfying that I went out later that evening and cut off the bases of the three bushes that ran along the north end of the front of the house, leaving them lay right where I cut them until the next morning. I hauled away two loads of cut up bushes that evening also and the next morning I attacked the rest.

In all, the hours it took me was just a little over one day and Its incredible the difference it makes on the house.

FullSizeRender 21

The front of the house is actually visible now that the bushes are gone and I am so empowered by the fact that I did this alone. Its amazing what a person can do with some motivation, a saw, a trailer, and some know-how. Now that I have taken these out I feel confident that almost anything I want to complete in the yard is fair game!

Leave a Reply

