Dining Table Daydreams

In my last post I showed you my dining room and what I had done so far to make it over. I ended up buying an Ikea table that was large and simple to go with the midcentury waiting room chairs that I have. The table is temporary however and I would like to trade it in someday for something a little more unique. My furniture shopping philosophy is to find unique pieces that have interesting lines and strong architecture.

Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 5.03.36 PM

I love a lot of West Elm design and the Geometric Base Dining Table is just one of their tables right now that I love. It has great lines and is very unique, but at $1499 it is definitely a someday in the future table.
Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 5.03.54 PM

West Elm’s Midcentury Expandable Dining Table is also a favorite of mine and at $699-799 it is a pretty decent price for a West Elm piece.Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 5.04.21 PM

 

 

I have just recently discovered that CB2 has some great pieces also, and adore the Dylan table. $999 isn’t that terrible for a great dining table, but at our current budget it is pretty much unthinkable (think flooring, painting, kitchen, laundry room, etc., first before awesome expensive dining tables). Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 5.06.08 PMI really enjoy Ikea furniture too. I like the Swedish minimalism in their designs and the Stockholm Collection has some really great pieces that are great quality in comparison to some of the other lines. They may not be a store of show stoppers, but some of their stuff is actually beautifully designed. This Stockholm walnut veneer table is very similar to the West Elm table, and is only $599, a cheaper alternative to WE. I love the simplicity of this table and the color would look great with my chairs.
Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 5.06.16 PMAnother Ikea table that I really like is MÖRBYLÅNGA. Its a new release and a great looking dining table. I love how the shape of the legs is similar to the squared arms design of my chairs so I think it would look great with them. At $699, its definitely on the more expensive end for Ikea, especially since it is not part of their Stockholm collection.

Hopefully in not too many years I can upgrade to a table that has a little more pizazz like some of these, but for now my Bjursta table looks fine and works great with my chairs.

Leave a Reply

